MS Basketball Team 2022

The Middle School Boys Basketball Teams finished their season last week with a pair of victories at home over Discovery Charter School. As a recap to the season, Team Captains Kyle Banker and Quinn Jordan said, “A good player makes himself better, but a great player makes the team better.”  Since nearly a quarter of the teams’ total points this year came from direct assists, the team clearly played out this “team before self” mindset on the court. It was this philosophy that led the A-Team to a 15-4 overall season record and a Championship Title at the ACSI Tournament! 

The teams also represented VCA at the Hammond Baptist Invitational Tournament in early February. After defeating Cornerstone and HSRC, the Lions’ A-Team worked together to defeat Hammond Baptist in the semi-final. The team ultimately took home the 2nd place trophy after falling to Hammond Baptist in a close game when the two rivals faced off again in the championship game. Congratulations to Kyle Banker for making 1st Team All-Tournament and Quinn Jordan and Gavin Whitaker for making 2nd Team All-Tournament.  

The B Team finished the year with a season record of 6-3. The team ranged in experience from “fully-devoted” to “learning to love the game for the first time.”   Nevertheless, every player improved their personal game this year. Despite facing some teams that were bigger and stronger (including several “A” teams at the Hammond Tournament), the B Team worked together, learned from each other, and exemplified a mental toughness and never quit attitude throughout the season.  

The Middle Schools Teams comprise 8th graders Kyle Banker, Quinn Jordan, Shane Hattabaugh, Gavin Whitaker, Jack Dodgin, Micah Rosales, and Jacob Overcash; 7th graders Levi Isensee, Sammy Decker and Jack Frost; and 6th graders, Brogan Banker, Gavin Helpingstine, Titus Shock, Connor Kegebein, Oakley Goetz, Rigby Gora, Riley Conners, Riley Herrold, and Justin Allen. The teams were coached by Rob Hattabaugh, Wayne Hattabaugh, and Matt Helpingstine. 

~ MS Head Coach, Rob Hattabaugh